CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professional) is one of the globally renowned certifications in the information security industry. Having this credential shows you have gone through the rigorous process of understanding IT infrastructure and honing skills to design and build a secure business environment. CISSP validates an information security professional’s in-depth technical and managerial knowledge and experience to efficiently plan and maintain an organization’s overall security posture. A survey conducted by the global information security and workforce study showed that 25% of CISSP certified professionals believed their certification helped increase their salaries. 

CISSP Certification Requirements

CISSP is not an entry-level certification. To get a CISSP Certification, you should have five years of full-time work experience in two of the eight CISSP domains. A four-year college degree or another (ISC)2 certificate can substitute a year of experience. 

All About the CISSP exam:

  • CISSP is a CAT (Computerized Adaptive Test)
  • How specifically CAT format works: When you begin the examination, you will be given four choices for each question. Choose one of the correct answers. When you choose a response and submit the answer, the next question will be based on the prior question’s response. If someone has done the previous question correctly, the next question will be slightly difficult. If someone has done the previous question wrong, the difficulty level of the next question decreases.
  • The duration of the CISSP exam is three hours.
  • You can not go back to the previous question and flag the question.

CISSP Domains:

CISSP Certification consists of eight domains:

Domain 1: Security and risk management (15%):

It explains security risk and control. It will provide you a holistic view of security risk, governance risk management and also informs how you can take care of business continuity planning at an enterprise-level. This domain has the highest percentage in the examination.

Domain 2: Asset Security (10%):

The next domain is assets security, a smaller domain but surely an important one. This domain will teach you about asset classification, privacy protection, asset retention,  data security controls, and secure data handling.

Domain 3: Security Architecture and engineering (13%):

It involves five distinct modules and three other parts. It explains cryptography, security architecture, and engineering, system architecture, and it also informs about physical security. So it is necessary for the examination point of view.

Domain 4: Communication and network security (14%):

It is one of the extensive domains in CISSP from an exam point of view. Most people do not have a networking background, so they can have difficulty understanding this domain’s concepts.

Domain 5: Identity and access management (13%):

This domain covers Physical and Logical Access Control, Identification, Authentication, Authorization, Authorization Mechanism, and Access Control Attack Mitigation.

Domain 6: Security assessment and testing (12%):

In this domain, we look at different features that we need to know from an application security perspective. It covers System Security Control Testing, Software Security Control Testing, Security Process Data Collection, and Audits.

Domain 7: Security operations (13%):

This domain covers various security operations concepts such as Physical Security, Personnel Security, Logging and Monitoring, Preventative Measures, Resource Provisioning and Protection, Patch and Vulnerability Management, and Incident Response.

Domain 8: Software development security (10%):

In this, we will see various ways of developing software(like software development life cycle, life cycle model, and activity of malicious code and their impact on applications, including your software applications). 

How Can InfosecTrain Help you?

InfosecTrain provides all the necessary CISSP certification exam guidance. Certified instructors deliver all training with years of industry experience. You can check and enroll in our CISSP Certification Training to prepare for the certification exam.